Culture Talk & Language Skills | Cultural differences in Japan and Taiwan | How to apologize when you violate a taboo (Japanese & Chinese)

Summary

In today’s episode, Lori and Mai have a conversation about some surprises you might encounter when you travel in Japan and Taiwan. Also check this one out for useful patterns to use in Japanese and Taiwanese Mandarin when you unintentionally break a taboo.

*We would like to apologize to our listeners about the audio quality on this episode. Thank you for continuing to listen and all your support. We will make every effort to present better production.

| Portals
➡️ Go to today’s useful phrases
➡️ Take me to dialogue transcripts
| Listen to our other episodes on a similar topic
➡️ 日本語聴解練習:Japanese Listening Practice 15 メキシコ生活で驚いたことベスト5
➡️ 中文聽力練習:Mandarin Listening Practice 16  簡單聽中文系列:文化衝擊小趣事


🆔 About Us
📽️ YouTube:https://youtube.com/@trilingual-chatbox
📱 twitter:https://twitter.com/3lingualcb
📬 Email:3lingual.cb@gmail.com


🎶 BGM
● BGM: Cold Ears-Come Inside Mix by J. Lang (c) copyright 2019 Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution (3.0) license. http://dig.ccmixter.org/files/djlang59/59577 Ft: Stefan Kartenberg & Nickolas Nikolic, Mindmapthat


©️ This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.


Photo by Victoriano Izquierdo on Unsplash

💠 Useful Phrases

Japanese

  1. Sorry in Japanese:
    <Commonly used in daily conversation>
    ・すみません 。
    ・ごめんなさい。


    <Commonly used in business situations>
    ・申し訳ございません。

    もうしわけございません
    ・申し訳ありません。

     もうしわけありません
  2. Examples:
    Polite
    (1). すみません (or ごめんなさい)。いけないことだとは知りませんでした。
    すみません (or ごめんなさい)。いけないことだとはしりませんでした。
    (2). 不快な思いをさせてしまって申し訳ありません。今後気を付けます。教えてくださりありがとうございます。
      ふかいなおもいをさせてしまってもうしわけありません。こんごきをつけます。おしえてくださりありがとうございます。

    Casual
    (3). ごめん(ね)!やってはいけないことだと(は)知らなかった。教えてくれてありがとう。
    ごめん(ね)!やってはいけないことだと(は)しらなかった。おしえてくれてありがとう


Chinese

  1. Pattern:
    Apologize + Explain yourself + A lesson learned
  2. Examples:
    (1) 對不起、對不起我沒有注意到謝謝你提醒我
    [TC]
    …….对不起、对不起我没有注意到谢谢你提醒我[SC]
    …….duì bù qǐ 、duì bù qǐ ,wǒ méi yǒu zhù yì dào 。xiè xiè nǐ tí xǐng wǒ
    …….Sorry, I didn’t notice that. Thanks for reminding me.
    (2) 真的很抱歉我不知道這樣做會冒犯到人我會多注意的
    …….真的很抱歉我不知道这样做会冒犯到人我会多注意的
    ……..zhēn de hěn bào qiàn ,wǒ bù zhī dào zhè yàng zuò huì mào fàn dào rén
    …….wǒ huì duō zhù yì de
    …….I’m terribly sorry. I didn’t know this would come off as offensive here.
    …….I’ll pay attention next time.
    (3) 不好意思啦我不是故意的這樣我下次知道了
    …….不好意思啦我不是故意的这样我下次知道了
    ……..bù hǎo yì sī la,wǒ bú shì gù yì de 。zhè yàng wǒ xià cì zhī dào le
    …….I’m so sorry. It was an honest mistake. I won’t make the mistake again.

💠 Dialogue

English

(Mai and Lori are having dinner at a restaurant.)
A: I need to use the bathroom. Where should I leave these pairs of chopsticks? Ah okay, I’ll just stick them into my bowl of rice….
B: No, no, no. What are you doing? You’re not supposed to do that.
A: Why not?
B: It’s considered a taboo to do that in our culture.
A: ________
B: It’s okay. No worries.

Japanese

(Mai and Lori are having dinner at a restaurant.)
A: I need to use the bathroom. Where should I leave these pairs of chopsticks? Ah okay, I’ll just stick them into my bowl of rice….
B: ダメ、ダメ、ダメ!何してるの!?ごはんに刺しちゃダメだよ!
A: どうしてダメなの?
B: 日本ではそれはやってはいけない事なんだよ。
A: ごめんね、やってはいけないことだって知らなかった。次から気を付けるね。
B: 気にしないで。次やらなければ大丈夫。

Chinese (Taiwanese Mandarin)

(Mai and Lori are having dinner at a restaurant.)
A: I need to use the bathroom. Where should I leave these pairs of chopsticks? Ah okay, I’ll just stick them into my bowl of rice….
B: 不行不行,你在幹嘛?你不要這樣。
……不行不行,你在干嘛?你不要这样。
……bù háng bù háng ,nǐ zài gàn ma ?nǐ bù yào zhè yàng 。
A: 為什麼不行啊?
……为什么不行啊?
……wéi shí me bù háng ā ?
B: 因為台灣人覺得這是禁忌。
……因为台湾人觉得这是禁忌。
……bù hǎo yì sī la ,wǒ bú shì gù yì de 。zhè yàng wǒ xià cì zhī dào le 。
A: 不好意思啦,我不是故意的。這樣我下次知道了。
……不好意思啦,我不是故意的。这样我下次知道了。
……bù hǎo yì sī lā ,wǒ bù shì gù yì de 。zhè yàng wǒ xià cì zhī dào le 。
B: 沒關係啦,這沒什麼。
……没关系啦,这没什么。
……méi guān xì lā ,zhè méi shí me 。


We would like to HEAR from you!
With consent, your message could be on a future episode!

Leave a Comment