Chinese Listening Practice | 文化衝擊小趣事 (Lori’s personal culture shock stories)

Summary

In this episode, Lori talks about things that have surprised her during her time abroad. The content roughly corresponds to HSK4. Feel free to answer the pre-questions after listening to the talk in the comments below so that Lori can help with corrections.

➡️ Go to Page 2 for modal answers.


🆔 About Us
📽️ YouTube:https://youtube.com/@trilingual-chatbox
📱 twitter:https://twitter.com/3lingualcb
📬 Email:3lingual.cb@gmail.com


🎶 BGM
● 甘茶の音楽工房「夏色のキャンパス」


©️ This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.


Photo by Ratapan Anantawat on Unsplash

💠Vocabulary

  • 衝擊/冲击 chōngjí/chōngjī
    shock; impact; to attack; to pound against [HSK6][C1]
  • 趣事 qùshì
    interesting story; fun anecdote
  1. 算是 suànshì
    considered to be
  2. 差異/差异 chāyì
    difference; discrepancy [B1]
  3. 室內/室内 shìnèi
    indoor; indoors
  4. 地毯 dìtǎn
    carpet; rug [HSK5][B2]
  5. 驚訝/惊讶 jīngyà
    amazed; surprised; to surprise [HSK6][B1]
  6. 難怪/难怪 nánguài
    (It’s) no wonder (that); (It’s) not surprising (that) [HSK5][B2]
  7. 歐美/欧美 ŌuMěi
    Europe and America; the West
  8. 晾乾/晾干 liànggān
    to dry by airing
  9. 常見/常见 chángjiàn
    commonly seen; common
  10. 禁忌 jìnjì
    taboo
  11. 帳篷/帐篷 zhàngpeng
    tent [HSK6][C1]
  12. 遊民/游民 yóumín
    homeless people; vagabond
  13. 無家可歸/无家可归 wújiākěguī
    [set expression] homeless
  14. 髮根/发根 fǎgēn/fàgēn
    hair root
  15. rǎn
    to dye [HSK6][B2]

💠Transcript

– Traditional Chinese –

嗨,大家好!我是The Trilingual Chatbox的主持人Lori。今天我們試試看,用比較口語的中文來聊聊,內容不算太難,我也會說慢一點,我使用的語言程度大約在HSK漢語水平考試的第4級,大家先看一看單字,再繼續播放。

我先給大家三個問題:
問題一、對Lori來說,英國和台灣有什麼不一樣呢?
問題二、Lori的室友為什麼生氣了?
問題三、你覺得「雞蛋布丁」長什麼樣子呢?
試試看用中文回答,下一集再給大家答案,WordPress網站上也會有答案喔。那我們開始囉!

今天要說的小故事,都是我和台灣朋友討論過之後,覺得算是1共同的想法。所以今天想跟大家分享一下,這些我出國的時候體驗到的文化差異2

◆ 文化衝擊一:鞋子穿進室內3
我曾經在英國住過一段時間,注意到兩個文化差異。第一個是,我發現英國的室內大部份都是有地毯4的,像學校教室啊、或一般的家庭啊等等。但讓我驚訝5的不是室內有地毯,而是一般人回到家裡都把鞋子穿進室內。台灣人習慣把鞋子脫了放在門口,再進到家裡。難怪6歐美7國家有很多地毯清潔公司。

◆ 文化衝擊二:六點之後街上沒人
這也發生在我住在英國的時候。我發現晚上大概到了六點之後街上就少了百分之九十的人,也就是人們好像不習慣在六點之後還在外面。我的朋友告訴我,為了安全,六點之後就盡量不要出門了。這方面台灣很不一樣,因為在台灣不管多晚,就算半夜十二點,街上還是到處都可以看得到人。

◆ 文化衝擊三:室內不能撐傘
我曾經有過一個西班牙的室友。有一天我從外面回來,那時候正下著雨,我把濕的雨傘帶進房子裡,然後把傘打開、放在地上想要晾乾8,結果我的室友非常生氣地叫我把雨傘收起來,她說這樣很不吉利。我就覺得很不好意思,當然立刻把傘收起來了。因為在台灣,在室內把傘晾乾是很常見9的,真的沒想到這會是禁忌10

◆ 文化衝擊四:市中心的街上很多帳篷11
我在美國的時候,有幾次在車子下了交流道進到市中心後,就在路的兩旁看到很多帳篷和遊民12。當然世界各大城市都有不少遊民,但在美國無家可歸13的人數量真的很多,這讓我很驚訝。看來美國還在面臨嚴重的遊民問題吧!

◆ 文化衝擊五:黑色的髮根14
亞洲人的頭髮大部分是黑色的,所以為了要有些變化,我們經常會把頭髮15成像歐美比較淡的顏色,例如棕色或金色等等。但過了一段時間,頭髮長長了,髮根的顏色還是黑色的,看起來就會像台灣一種有兩層顏色的點心,叫做「雞蛋布丁」。我們很不喜歡「布丁頭」,會覺得不好意思,所以就需要經常補染髮根。但就在今年2022年,歐美開始流行故意去把髮根染成黑色的,也就是說,「布丁頭」現在已經變成一種時尚了。我猜喜歡染淺色頭髮的亞洲人應該會特別開心吧!

好,今天就聊到這兒了。不知道大家喜不喜歡這樣的內容呢?喜歡的話,希望你們能在WordPress網站上幫我按一個「喜歡Like」,這樣我就知道囉!

– Simplified Chinese –

嗨,大家好!我是The Trilingual Chatbox的主持人Lori。今天我们试试看,用比较口语的中文来聊聊,内容不算太难,我也会说慢一点,我使用的语言程度大约在HSK汉语水平考试的第4级,大家先看一看单字,再继续播放。

我先给大家三个问题:
问题一、对Lori来说,英国和台湾有什麽不一样呢?
问题二、Lori的室友为什麽生气了?
问题三、你觉得「鸡蛋布丁」长什麽样子呢?
试试看用中文回答,下一集再给大家答案,WordPress网站上也会有答案喔。那我们开始囉!

今天要说的小故事,都是我和台湾朋友讨论过之后,觉得算是1共同的想法。所以今天想跟大家分享一下,这些我出国的时候体验到的文化差异2

◆ 文化冲击一:鞋子穿进室内3
我曾经在英国住过一段时间,注意到两个文化差异。第一个是,我发现英国的室内大部份都是有地毯4的,像学校教室啊、或一般的家庭啊等等。但让我惊讶5的不是室内有地毯,而是一般人回到家裡都把鞋子穿进室内。台湾人习惯把鞋子脱了放在门口,再进到家裡。难怪6欧美7国家有很多地毯清洁公司。

◆ 文化冲击二:六点之后街上没人
这也发生在我住在英国的时候。我发现晚上大概到了六点之后街上就少了百分之九十的人,也就是人们好像不习惯在六点之后还在外面。我的朋友告诉我,为了安全,六点之后就尽量不要出门了。这方面台湾很不一样,因为在台湾不管多晚,就算半夜十二点,街上还是到处都可以看得到人。

◆ 文化冲击三:室内不能撑伞
我曾经有过一个西班牙的室友。有一天我从外面回来,那时候正下着雨,我把湿的雨伞带进房子裡,然后把伞打开、放在地上想要晾乾8,结果我的室友非常生气地叫我把雨伞收起来,她说这样很不吉利。我就觉得很不好意思,当然立刻把伞收起来了。因为在台湾,在室内把伞晾乾是很常见9的,真的没想到这会是禁忌10

◆ 文化冲击四:市中心的街上很多帐篷11
我在美国的时候,有几次在车子下了交流道进到市中心后,就在路的两旁看到很多帐篷和游民12。当然世界各大城市都有不少游民,但在美国无家可归13的人数量真的很多,这让我很惊讶。看来美国还在面临严重的游民问题吧!

◆ 文化冲击五:黑色的发根14
亚洲人的头发大部分是黑色的,所以为了要有些变化,我们经常会把头发15成像欧美比较淡的颜色,例如棕色或金色等等。但过了一段时间,头发长长了,发根的颜色还是黑色的,看起来就会像台湾一种有两层颜色的点心,叫做「鸡蛋布丁」。我们很不喜欢「布丁头」,会觉得不好意思,所以就需要经常补染发根。但就在今年2022年,欧美开始流行故意去把发根染成黑色的,也就是说,「布丁头」现在已经变成一种时尚了。我猜喜欢染浅色头发的亚洲人应该会特别开心吧!

好,今天就聊到这儿了。不知道大家喜不喜欢这样的内容呢?喜欢的话,希望你们能在WordPress网站上帮我按一个「喜欢Like」,这样我就知道囉!

– English –

Hi guys! Welcome back to the Trilingual Chatbox podcast. This is your host, Lori. Today let’s try using more colloquial language to chat. It won’t be too difficult, and I’ll try to slow down a little as well. The language proficiency level is again at around HSK 4. Have a look at the vocabulary before you start. All right, let’s get started!

The anecdotes that I’m telling today are based on some common ideas that my Taiwanese friends and I had after our discussion. So I want to share with you these cultural differences I experienced when I was abroad.

Culture shock 1: Wearing shoes indoors

I used to live in the UK for a while and noticed two cultural differences. The first one is that I found that most buildings in the UK have carpet floors, like classrooms and ordinary homes. That didn’t surprise me, but the fact that people usually wore their shoes indoors after returning home did. Taiwanese people would take off their shoes and leave them at the door before entering the houses. It’s no wonder there are many carpet-cleaning businesses in the West.

Culture Shock 2: No one on the street after 6PM

This also happened when I lived in the UK. I realized that after 6 o’clock in the evening, there were 90% fewer people on the streets. It seems that British people tend not to stay outside after 6PM. A friend told me not to go out after six for safety concerns. The situation is rather different in Taiwan because no matter how late it is, even if it’s twelve midnight, you can still see plenty of people on the streets.

Culture shock 3: Never leave an umbrella open indoors

I once had a roommate from Spain. One day, it was raining, and I came back from outside. I brought my wet umbrella into the house, opened it, and left it on the ground to dry. But my roommate got upset and told me to put it away, saying it would bring bad luck. I was so embarrassed, and of course, I put it away immediately. I certainly did not expect my behavior to be considered taboo because it is quite common in Taiwan to dry umbrellas indoors.

Culture Shock 4: Lots of tents on the streets in downtown areas

When I was in the United States, several times after I exited a ramp into a downtown city, I saw lines of tents with homeless people residing in them on both sides of the road. Of course, there is a large number of homeless people in metropolitan areas around the world, but the homeless population in the United States really did surprise me. It seems that the US government has still been facing serious homelessness issues as of now.

Culture Shock 5: Dark Hair Roots

Most Asians have dark hair, so we often dye our hair into lighter colors like the western styles for variety, such as brown or blond hair colors. But eventually the natural hair grows back, leaving the roots dark, and the transition phase makes one’s hair look like a Taiwanese jelly snack with two layers of colors. It’s called “egg pudding” in Chinese and looks like the French dessert “crème caramel.” We don’t like this crème caramel-like hairstyle very much and usually get embarrassed by having it, so we need to do constant root touchups. But just this year in 2022, it’s become a trend in the West to intentionally have dark roots, which means, “crème caramel hairstyle” has now become a fashion. I guess Asians who enjoy dyeing their hair light should be pretty thrilled about this!


🔽 Go to Page 2 for modal answers

Leave a Comment