Chinese Grammar | How to use 把(bǎ) in Chinese

Summary

If you speak English and you are now learning Chinese, you will most likely find it perplexing when you try to translate a Chinese sentence with the word ‘把’ in it, or vice versa. It usually gets lost in translation. When and how exactly do Chinese-speaking people use it? Come join us on today’s episode and learn the gist of the word ‘把’ (Disposal Construction)!


🆔 About Us
📽️ YouTube:https://youtube.com/@trilingual-chatbox
📱 twitter:https://twitter.com/3lingualcb
📬 Email:3lingual.cb@gmail.com


©️ This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.



picture courtesy of Wonderlane

Transcription

【Skit】

Lori: Mai-san, did you see my watch? 我不知道我我的手錶(表)放哪兒(儿)去了(I don’t know where I left my watch)

Mai: Isn’t it on the kitchen table? You were cooking. 所以妳就手錶(表)脫(脱)下來(来)了(so you took off your watch). Remember?

Lori: Oh, yeah. It’s right here. Thanks! Oh, er, do you also happen to know where my cellphone is? 我保護殼(保护壳)拿去洗一洗,手機(机)就不曉(晓)得我放哪兒(儿)了(I removed my cell phone case and had it washed, and then I couldn’t remember where I last left my cell phone.)

Mai: 妳它放在門(门)口了(You left it by the door)。It’s right on top of the cabinet by the door.

Lori: Oh right… I see it now… 我真的應該(应该)亂(乱)丢東(东)西的壞習慣(坏习惯)改一改了(I really should kick the bad habit of misplacing and leaving stuff behind.)

Mai: I was just going to say that!


【TTC 10 Quiz】

Do we use the disposal construction here, YES/NO?

Question 1: Teacher Lori asked Mai-chan to clean up the floor.

Question 2: Mai-chan said she had already done her assignment.

Question 3: Mai-chan said a new novel she had read reminded her of an old movie.


Answer 1: Yes. (妳)(去)地板掃一掃(扫一扫)。(妳)(去)把地板掃乾淨(扫干净)。

Answer 2: Yes. 已經(经)作業(业)寫(写)完/好了。

Answer 3: No. 這(这)本新小說(说)(让)我想起一部老電(电)影。


We would like to HEAR from you!
Your message could end up on a future episode!

(with your consent, of course)

1 Comment

Leave a Comment