Japanese Grammar | How to use “れる・られる”: four different meanings

Summary

In this episode, we discuss four different meanings of “れる・られる”, and compare them to one another. 「先生はきれいに食べられる。」「先生にお菓子を食べられる。」「先生はなんでも食べられる。」If you can’t tell the difference among those three 食べられる, come check it out!  


🆔 About Us
📽️ YouTube:https://youtube.com/@trilingual-chatbox
📱 twitter:https://twitter.com/3lingualcb
📬 Email:3lingual.cb@gmail.com


©️ This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.


Photo by Caroline Hernandez on Unsplash

Transcription

【Skit】

M: Lori-san, I fell down the stairs at the station. 派手に転んじゃいました。

L: Oh no… 大丈夫でした?

M: はい、でも周りの人に笑われました。People were laughing at me… It was embarrassing.  

L: How did it happen? Were you in a hurry?

M: 上司がスマホを忘れて帰られたので、急いで追いかけていたんです。

  My boss left his smartphone, so I was running after him.

L: そうなんですね。それで、スマホは届けられましたか。Did you manage to pass it to him?

M: はい、なんとか届けられました。(可能) 

L: 良かったですね。 

M: でも駅で転んだシーンが今も思い出されます。It was embarrassing.  

L: じゃ、美味しいものでも食べて、忘れちゃいましょう!

 Let`s eat something nice and forget about it.

—-Quiz—–

■ Please choose the correct meaning of “れる・られる” .

Your answer should be 受動 passive, 尊敬 honorific,可能 potential or 自発 spontaneous.

1. 先生は30分ほど話された後、少し水を飲まれました。 

(The teacher talked about 30minutes and then had some water. )

2.私は優柔不断なので、食べたいものをすぐに決められません。 

(Since I am indecisive, I cannot decide what I want to eat quickly.)

3. 私がアイスクリームを食べていたら、カラスに食べられました

(When I was eating ice cream, my ice cream is eaten by a crow.)

4.この曲を聴くと高校時代が思い出されます

(This song reminds me of my high school days.)

Ans. 1. 尊敬 2. 可能 3.受動 4.自発


We would like to HEAR from you!
Your message could end up on a future episode!

(with your consent, of course)

Leave a Comment