Japanese Grammar | How to use られる (Indirect Passive Voice, aka Suffering Passive | 迷惑の受け身)

Summary

We discuss Japanese indirect passive voice (suffering passive), which is different from the passive voice in English. After listening to this episode, you will be able to express what happened was unpleasant to you without changing your tone of voice. 


🆔 About Us
📽️ YouTube:https://youtube.com/@trilingual-chatbox
📱 twitter:https://twitter.com/3lingualcb
📬 Email:3lingual.cb@gmail.com


©️ This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.


Photo by Raimond Klavins on Unsplash

Transcription

【Skit】

M: Lori-san, pass me a towel. 帰り道、雨に降られました

L:  Didn’t you take an umbrella with you? 傘はどうしましたか?

M: I don’t know…多分盗まれました

L:You should have bought a cheap umbrella at the convenience store.

M: Actually, I went to the store at the station. but最後の一本を前の人に買われました

The guy in front of me got the last one.

L: So unfortunate… 残念でしたね。

M:Yeah, but it`s OK. I`m gonna eat the cake I bought yesterday. It will cheer me up.

L: Sorry!!I didn’t know it was yours. さっき、食べちゃいました。

M: 私のケーキ、Loriさんに食べられました☹ 

====Quiz======

Which is the better translation? A or B?

1 .My mother read my diary. (I didn`t want her to read it.)

A. 母に日記を読まれました。 

B. 母は私の日記を読みました。

2. My friends told me they had to leave early, and they left first.

A. 友達に先に帰られました。

B. 友達は先に帰りました。

3. The old lady`s husband died when she was young. (She was very sad.)

A.そのおばあさんは若い時に旦那さんに死なれました。

B.そのおばあさんが若い時に旦那さんが死にました。 

4. My brother ate a whole cake. (I didn’t want any because I was full.)

A. 弟にケーキを全部食べられました。

B. 弟がケーキを全部食べました。


Ans. 1. A 2.B 3. A 4. B


We would like to HEAR from you!
Your message could end up on a future episode!

(with your consent, of course)

Leave a Comment