Chinese Grammar | How to use 就(jiù) in Chinese – Part 1

Summary

This is the first part of a two-part recording. We discuss the four concepts of the Chinese word “就” and present several examples for the audience to grasp the meanings of it. Join our quiz to test your understanding!


🆔 About Us
📽️ YouTube:https://youtube.com/@trilingual-chatbox
📱 twitter:https://twitter.com/3lingualcb
📬 Email:3lingual.cb@gmail.com


©️ This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.


picture courtesy of Kentaro Toma

Transcription

【Skit】

M: Hey, Lori-san. When did you start learning Japanese?

L: Well… about twelve, I guess? 我大概12歲開始學日文了。

M: That was pretty early. How many of your classmates were also learning Japanese?

L: None! 學日文的我一個人. We had English classes at school, but I taught myself some

basic Japanese in my free time.

M: Was it hard for you to memorize Japanese characters?

L: It was okay, I’d say. 我大約一週把五十音背下來了。我學會hiragana and kata kana,試著

翻譯我喜歡的日本歌詞。

M: And you memorized all those Japanese lyrics?

L: 對啊,記了五十音,就會唱日文歌了。But actually I had no idea what I was singing about, I

mean, 我就只會發音。I only knew how to pronounce all the characters but didn’t really

understand the meaning of the lyrics.

M: But that was where it all began!

L: Exactly. I didn’t care if I understood or not, 我就是喜歡日文歌嘛!


We would like to HEAR from you!
Your message could end up on a future episode!

(with your consent, of course)

1 Comment

Leave a Comment