Japanese Grammar | What’s the difference between くれる and あげる?

Summary

In this Japanese episode, we are talking about the difference between あげる(Ageru)and くれる(kureru), which are both translated as “give”. It seems difficult for Japanese learners to understand the difference between them because it is greatly related to Japanese culture.  


🆔 About Us
📽️ YouTube:https://youtube.com/@trilingual-chatbox
📱 twitter:https://twitter.com/3lingualcb
📬 Email:3lingual.cb@gmail.com


©️ This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.


【Skit】

M: Lori-san, I saw your mom wearing a very nice dress yesterday. Did you give it to her?Loriさんが`お母さんにあげたんですか

L:No.. one of my mom`s friends gave it to her for her birthday.

お母さんの友達があげました。 (*should be くれました)

M: Ah.. I see. お母さんのお友達がくれたんですね。 

She looked great in that dress. And what did you give for her birthday?

L:かばんをくれました。 (*should be あげました)

M: Mmm? Did your mom give you a bag?  

L:No, no, no. I gave her a bag.

M: I see. Loriさんがお母さんにかばんをあげたんですね。 

L:That`s right. お母さんにかばんをあげました。 

(*We intentionally used the wrong word for the underlined ones. )

=====Quiz======

■Choose A or B and complete the sentence.

1.gave a book to my brother.
私は、弟に本を(A. あげました。|B.くれました。)

2.My brother gave me a book.
弟は私に本を(A.あげました。| B.くれました。)

3.My boss gave a gift to my mom.
私の上司は、母に(A.あげました。| B.くれました。)

4.My teacher gave a ring to his wife.
私の先生は、奥さんに指輪を(A. あげました。| B. くれました。) 

5.My uncle gave a bike to my sister.
叔父は妹に自転車を(A.あげました。| B.くれました。)


Ans. 1. A 2.B 3. B 4. A 5. B


We would like to HEAR from you!
Your message could end up on a future episode!

(with your consent, of course)

Leave a Comment