Chinese Grammar | What’s the difference between 不 and 沒?

Summary

In this episode, we discuss the use of two Chinese words 不 and 沒(有). We introduce the main differences between 不 and 沒 and give examples. Come test your knowledge with our quizzes!


🆔 About Us
📽️ YouTube:https://youtube.com/@trilingual-chatbox
📱 twitter:https://twitter.com/3lingualcb
📬 Email:3lingual.cb@gmail.com


©️ This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.


Transcription

【TTC 2 skit】

photo courtesy of APriscilla Du Preez
<繁體中文Traditional Chinese>

L: 妳今天氣色看起來很不錯耶!Did you use the new foundation you bought last week?

M: 喔,我化妝欸。

L: Oh really? I didn’t know that you never wear make-up. Why did you get the new foundation then?

M: 喔,不是不是。I mean, I’m not wearing any right now.

L: 哦,妳不是「不化妝」,妳是說妳「沒化妝」呀!

M: 對,今天我化妝。So, “我不化妝” means I don’t wear makeup, and “我沒化妝” means I’m not wearing any right now?

L: 沒錯沒錯!It is quite confusing, isn’t it?

<简体中文Simplified Chinese>

L: 妳今天气色看起来很不错耶!Did you use the new foundation you bought last week?

M: 喔,我化妆欸。

L: Oh really? I didn’t know that you never wear make-up. Why did you get the new foundation then?

M: 喔,不是不是。I mean, I’m not wearing any right now.

L: 哦,妳不是「不化妆」,妳是说妳「没化妆」呀!

M: 对,今天我化妆。So, “我不化妆” means I don’t wear makeup, and “我没化妆” means I’m not wearing any right now?

L: 没错没错!It is quite confusing, isn’t it?


We would like to HEAR from you!
Your message could end up on a future episode!

(with your consent, of course)

Leave a Comment